How to delete your eharmony account


Whether you’ve finally found your person and are ready to leave dating sites behind for good, or just need a break or a mental refresh from online dating, you may find yourself wanting to delete your eharmony account for good. Kissing both your profile and all of your prior matches and conversations goodbye is a big decision, and truth be told, it isn’t very intuitive to achieve.
On the other hand, if you don’t want permanent data loss and think maybe, just maybe, you might be returning, you can temporarily hide your account, keeping all your data and match information for when you’re ready to make a comeback.
Here’s what you need to know to accomplish each of these options.
How to cancel your eharmony subscription
If you’re paying for an eharmony subscription, it’s important to cancel your membership before deleting your account. Here are the steps you need to follow:
-
Log in to your eharmony account through a web browser
-
Navigate to the upper right corner of the screen and click on your profile photo
-
From here, select Data & Settings
-
Under the My Membership tab at the top, select Cancel My Subscriptions and follow the prompts
Depending on your renewal period, you may have additional time left on your paid subscription, but you’re now free to proceed to account deletion.
How to delete your eharmony account
You delete your eharmony account from the same screen you use to cancel your subscription, so the initial steps are identical:
-
Log in to your eharmony account through a web browser
-
Navigate to the upper right corner of the screen and click on your profile photo
-
From here, select Data & Settings
-
Under the Profile Visibility section, you’ll see the prompt “To delete your profile permanently, please click here”
-
After reading the data loss disclaimers, you’ll be asked to re-enter your password to confirm your identity. Do so and then select Delete Profile
Deleting your profile will simultaneously delete all of your uploaded photos and profile information, as well as your matches and contact information, allowing you to start afresh if you ever decide to return.
How to temporarily hide your eharmony account
If you’re having second thoughts about fully deleting your profile but still want to step back from the eharmony matchmaking system for a time, you can hide your profile. Doing so will retain all of your matches, photos, conversation history, and subscriptions intact, but will make your profile invisible to people who haven’t already interacted with your profile.
To hide your eharmony account, follow these steps:
-
Log in to your eharmony account through a web browser
-
Navigate to the upper right corner of the screen and click on your profile photo
-
From here, select Data & Settings
-
Under the Profile Visibility section, click on the green toggle after “Visible to all eharmony members”
-
Your status should change to “Not visible,” at which point your account is hidden
Hiding your profile is a great compromise option, especially when you’re in the early stages of what might turn into a relationship but could still fizzle out. You can still proceed with account deletion if need be, or return to the eharmony ecosystem by reversing the steps above.



